The Building

Stuttgart's Television Tower, with its height of 217 metres, was the first of its kind in the world, and thus the prototype for many other television towers. Acknowledged as an aesthetic and architectural masterpiece, this forerunner with its timeless design remains unparalleled up to the present day. The Stuttgart Tower set off a global chain reaction of tower construction. There are now hundreds of television towers all over the world, though the Stuttgart original remains unique in its harmonious proportions.

Foundations

Whereas the tall chimney stacks built in the 1950s had foundations of heavy, solid slabs, for the Television Tower Fritz Leonhardt conceived for the first time a ring foundation with a core diameter of 27 metres, which has the effect of considerably reducing sway. In order to prevent the ring foundation from bursting under a load of 4500 tonnes, a radial wire bundle of high-strength steel was used. Similar to the spokes of a bicycle wheel, the tendons stabilise the ring foundation by keeping it under tension. The tensioning wires are protected from ground water corrosion by means of a thin concrete slab.

Two conical shells for stability

The transition element between the foundation and the shaft is a truncated conical shell, which transfers the loads and wind strain to the ring. At an angle to it and upside down, as it were, in the interior of the foundation, there is a second conical shell. This shell abuts the upper rim of the outer one, with its apex embedded in the central base plate, making for a solid, extremely stable construction.

Fritz Leonhardt wanted to conceal the broad foundation under ground level. The gracefulness of the structure was not to be spoilt by a massive base, as in the case of later towers in East Berlin and Moscow.

The constructor, Fritz Leonhardt, incorporated numerous safety elements. As he later said: "We calculated the Stuttgart Tower with an excessive safety margin, because this was as yet uncharted territory."

Tower Shaft

The Tower shaft is basically a reinforced concrete tube held by the foundation structure. The external diameter at the base of the Tower is 10.80 metres, tapering to 5.04 metres below the pod. The narrowest part must still be wide enough to accommodate the two elevators, emergency stairs and ducting.

Modelled on Nature

The Tower owes its graceful, harmonious appearance to the parabolic curve of the shaft. Its upwardly tapering form is therefore not absolutely straight, but deviates from the line in a barely noticeable concave curve. Trees don't grow ramrod-straight either. Another detail is also modelled on nature: the relatively thin walls of the concrete tube are fortified on the inside at ten-metre intervals by transverse frames. The same principle can be found in the tall stems of the bamboo plant.

Tower Sway

Wind pressure, sunlight and drops in temperature can cause the Tower to oscillate. A basic sway takes about 5 to 6 seconds. Despite this, even in severe storms the greatest deflection of the shaft from the axis is not more than 30 centimetres. The end of the transmitter mast, on the other hand, can sway up to 1.50 metres. However, there is no danger that the Tower might collapse.

Shape of the Pod

The basic shape of the pod was predetermined: a circular-cylindrical form generates the least wind resistance. In order to improve flow conditions, the top and bottom edges were considerably rounded. This chamfering has two additional advantages: it spares visitors unpleasant wind noise and prevents them from looking straight down from the observation platform.

In order to make the construction look graceful despite its weight, the outer skin was covered in smooth aluminium cladding, a façade which makes the Television Tower as streamlined as an aeroplane. It is even immune to gales. A hurricane-force wind of 170 km per hour subjects the Tower to a wind pressure of 172 tonnes. Compared with the Tower's total weight of 4,500 tonnes and the earth pressure on its foundations of 3,000 tonnes, 172 tonnes are not enough to pose a threat.

Bottom floor: technology level

The Tower pod consists of four levels. The bottom floor, at a height of 138 metres, contains the technical equipment. Up until 1974 it housed the television transmitter. After this the third generation of television transmitters was relocated in the operations building at the foot of the Tower. This was possible because new, high-frequency cables with low attenuation were now able to bridge the long distance up to the antenna. Today, the former technology floor contains the Tower's technical equipment, various radio links, mobile telephone systems and police transmission apparatus.

Upper floors: visitor levels

From the beginning the two uppermost levels had been planned as visitor decks, because a restaurant would only be viable if large enough. The floor below contained the kitchens. Following the renovation of the outer cladding of the Tower in 2005, the kitchens remained a shell, while the former restaurant became an event area for all kinds of functions. Today the top floor contains the café and bar.

Observation Platform

At a height of 150 metres there's a two-tiered observation platform. The second tier was built especially for children, as the 1.30-metre-high parapet would otherwise have prevented them from enjoying the view.

Transmitter Mast

The Stuttgart Television Tower's transmitter mast is a riveted, square lattice mast composed of angle sections. The lower VHF section is 32 metres high and 1.90 metres wide, while the 19-metre-high upper section is only 1.29 metres wide. The mast weighs 48 tonnes.

The transmitter mast is painted red and white in accordance with international safety standards, making it stand out against the dark ground and the pale sky so that it is easily visible to air traffic. In addition, the antenna mast is equipped with red obstruction lights.Ê

Although the Tower guaranteed good television reception in the Greater Stuttgart area from 1955 onwards, there were still occasional complaints about poor viewing quality in certain parts of the city. For this reason the Süddeutscher Rundfunk increased the height of the steel lattice mast in 1965 by 3.8 metres. The Tower is now 217 metres high.

Bauwerk

Mit seinen 217 Metern ist der Stuttgarter Fernsehturm der Erste der Welt und somit das Urmodell für viele andere Fernsehtürme. Der Pionier gilt als ästhetisches und architektonisches Meisterwerk und ist bis heute in seinem zeitlosen Design unerreicht. Der Stuttgarter Turm löste eine globale Turmbauwelle aus. Inzwischen gibt es Hunderte von Fernsehtürmen in aller Welt, wobei der Stuttgarter mit seinen harmonischen Proportionen bisher einmalig geblieben ist.

Fundament

Während bei den großen Schornsteinen in den 50er Jahren schwere Massivplatten das Fundament bildeten, entwickelte Fritz Leonhardt für den Fernsehturm erstmalig ein Ringfundament mit einer Kernweite von 27 Metern. Diese Kernweite bewirkt, dass die Schwankungen viel geringer ausfallen. Um das Ringfundament mit der Belastung von 4500 Tonnen nicht zu sprengen, wählte man ein radiales Drahtbündel aus festem Stahl. Wie die Speichen bei einem Fahrrad, setzen die Spannglieder das Ringfundament unter Spannung und festigen es. Mit einer dünnen Betonplatte werden die Spanndrahtstähle gegen Korrosion durch das Grundwasser geschützt.

Zwei Kegelschalen sorgen für Stabilität  

Als Übergangselement vom Fundament zum Schaft dient eine Kegelstumpfschale, die die Lasten und Windkräfte auf den Ring überträgt. Schräg dagegen und gewissermaßen auf dem Kopf steht im Innern des Fundaments eine zweite Kegelschale. Diese Schale setzt am oberen Rand der äußeren an und ihre Spitze ist in die Bodenscheibe im Zentrum eingelassen. Somit entstand ein räumliches, sehr stabiles Fachwerk.

Fritz Leonhardt wollte das breite Fundament unter der Erde verschwinden lassen. Die Leichtigkeit des Bauwerks sollte nicht durch eine massive Basis zerstört werden. Dies war später bei den Türmen in Ostberlin oder Moskau der Fall.

Der Konstrukteur Fritz Leonhardt plante viele Sicherheitsvorkehrungen ein. Er sagte später: "Den Stuttgarter Turm haben wir mit übertrieben großer Sicherheit bemessen, weil Neuland beschritten wurde."

Turmschaft

Der Turmschaft ist ein Stahlbetonrohr, das im Fundamentkörper eingespannt ist. Am Fuß des Turms beträgt der Außendurchmesser 10,80 Meter und verjüngt sich bis zum Korbansatz auf 5,04 Meter. Auch an der engsten Stelle muss ausreichend Platz für die beiden Aufzüge, die Nottreppe und die Leitungsführungen vorhanden sein.

Die Natur als Vorbild 

Entscheidend für das leichte und harmonische Erscheinungsbild ist der parabelartige Verlauf des Schafts. Die Verjüngung nach oben ist also nicht mit dem Lineal gezogen, sondern weicht mit einem kaum wahrnehmbaren konkaven Schwung von der Geraden ab. Auch Bäume wachsen nicht schnurgerade. In einem anderen Detail taucht ebenfalls ein Naturvorbild auf: Die relativ dünnen Wände der Betonröhre sind im Innern alle zehn Meter mit einem Querrahmen versteift. Nach diesem Prinzip wachsen auch Bambusrohre hoch hinaus.

Schwankungen des Turms

Durch Winddruck, Sonneneinstrahlung und Abkühlung kann der Turmschaft in Schwingungen geraten. Für eine Grundschwingung benötigt er etwa 5 bis 6 Sekunden. Der größte Ausschlag aus der Achse bei schweren Stürmen beträgt beim Schaft allerdings höchstens 30 Zentimeter. Das Ende des Antennenmasts schwankt jedoch schon 1,50 Meter. Umfallen wird der Turm jedoch nicht.

Form des Korbs

Die Grundform des Korbs war vorgegeben: Eine Kreiszylinderform erzeugt nämlich den niedrigsten Windwiderstand. Um Strömungsverhältnisse zu verbessern, wurden die Kanten oben wie unten kräftig abgerundet. Die Abschrägung hat noch zwei Vorteile: Sie erspart den Besuchern unangenehme Windgeräusche und verhindert, dass sie auf der Aussichtsplattform in die Tiefe schauen.

Um diese Konstruktion trotz ihres Gewichts leicht wirken zu lassen, wurde die Außenhaut mit glattem Aluminiumblech ummantelt. Mit dieser Fassade ist der Fernsehturm so windschlüpfrig wie ein Flugzeug. Selbst Stürme können ihm nichts anhaben. Ein Orkan mit 170 Kilometer pro Stunde erzeugt auf den Turm einen Winddruck von 172 Tonnen. Im Vergleich mit dem Gesamtgewicht des Turmes von 4.500 Tonnen und der Erdlast von 3000 Tonnen auf dem Fundament sind 172 Tonnen so gering, dass keine Gefahr besteht.

Unterste Etage: Technikgeschoss

Der Korb des Turms besteht aus vier Etagen. Die unterste Etage auf 138 Metern Höhe ist der Technik vorbehalten. Hier war bis 1974 der Fernsehsender eingebaut. Die dritte Fernsehsendergeneration wurde danach ins Betriebsgebäude am Fuß des Turmes verlegt. Neue Hochfrequenzkabel mit geringer Dämpfung, die die lange Strecke bis zur Antenne überbrücken konnten, erlaubten die Verlagerung. Heute sind im ehemaligen Technikgeschoss die Haustechnik, verschiedene Richtfunkstrecken, Anlagen für Mobiltelefone und Sendeanlagen der Polizei untergebracht.

Obere Etagen: Gasträume

Die beiden obersten Korbgeschosse wurden von Anfang an als Gasträume eingeplant, weil sich der Betrieb eines Turmrestaurants nur ab einer bestimmten Größe lohnt. Im Geschoss darunter war die Küche. Nach der Renovierung der Außenhaut des Turms im Jahr 2005 blieb die Küche im Rohbauzustand und im ehemaligen Restaurantteil entstand eine Ebene für Veranstaltungen aller Art. Im obersten Geschoss wird heute ein Café und Bar betrieben.

Aussichtsplattform

In 150 Metern Höhe schließt sich eine zweigeschossige Aussichtsplattform an. Das zweite Geschoss wurde extra für Kinder gebaut, weil sie durch die 1,30 Meter hohe Brüstung die Aussicht sonst nicht genießen könnten.

Sendemast

Der Sendemast des Fernsehturms Stuttgart ist ein genieteter, quadratischer Gittermast aus Winkelprofilen. Das 32 Meter hohe untere UKW-Teil ist 1,90 Meter breit, während das 19 Meter hohe obere Teil nur noch 1,29 Meter breit ist. Der Mast wiegt 48 Tonnen.

Der Antennenmast ist nach den internationalen Richtlinien hellrot und weiß gestrichen. Damit zeichnet er sich gegen die dunkle Erde und den hellen Himmel deutlich ab und wird vom Flugzeug aus gesehen. Zusätzlich ist der Antennenmast mit roten Hindernisfeuern bestückt.

Obwohl mit dem Turmbau ab 1955 ein guter Fernsehempfang im Großraum Stuttgart gewährleistet war, kam es trotzdem immer wieder zu Klagen über gestörte Bilder aus abgeschatteten Teilen des Stadtgebiets.1965 ließ daher der Süddeutsche Rundfunk den Stahlgittermast um 3,8 Meter erhöhen. Seither ist der Turm 217 Meter hoch.